Lessons From My Father

  1. Keep it simple!
  2. Never raise your voice at loved ones.  There is a way to get your point across without screaming.
  3. Music heals the soul & fills a house with love.
  4. Dont be too hard on yourself! One of my last conversations with him,  I was having a bad day, & here he is comforting me while going through chemo & radiation treatments and I’ll never forget he said, ” you’re a beautiful girl, what more do you want?” “you have a family that loves you, what more do you want?!” “You have a great job, what more do you want?!“Dont be so hard on yourself!” “Enjoy your life!!!”
  5. Dont repeat yourself, we all heard you the first time.
  6. Laugh, laugh, and laugh some more.
  7. Work integrity! You are the beams that hold that company up & sometimes you have to do things you don’t like, but whats the alternative?
  8. Laugh with your spouse & make fun of each other, don’t be too serious.
  9. Never give up on your family.  Always forgive & always help!
  10. How to face disease, bad news, and a death sentence with humility, grace and dignity.  During the last two years of his life I never saw him waiver and he was himself until the day he passed.

Please let me remember always:

  • His laugh, that sounded like a howl & a car engine that wouldn’t start.
  • His love for regaee, old r & b, and music in general.
  • Outdoors man.  Give him a deck, porch, stoop, whatever, he loved it!
  • Cars!!!
  • The way he would say “pookie, pookie, pookie” to me.
  • This tune he would whistle, that he never could remember the name and yet he whistled it every year of my life.
  • Watching soap operas together.
  • His strength.
  • No grudges, he forgave immediately.

And so much more…to be continued

Comments
4 Responses to “Lessons From My Father”
  1. Gwen says:

    Ohh what a way to start my day with this AWESOME smile I have and my heart filling so full!!! God Bless you Kindra!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Brooke says:

    Bawling. You are such a beautiful writer and speak from your heart. I loved everything you said kindra. Your dad and mom sure as he’ll raised an amazing daughter

  3. kindrathings says:

    Aww Bill!!! Thank you for your kind words. Literally, I was sobbing and smiling while writing it. Im so thankful to have had him for the time I did & so happy that he is free:-) love you.

Leave a Reply

