Hey Mr. Music—Happy 70th Birthday Daddy

Happy Birthday Daddy!! Today is your 70th birthday, and even though you are not here in the physical, we continue to celebrate your spirit that lives through your wife, your children, grand children, great grand children, etc… and this world.  I will spend today remembering all that you are and all that I aspire to be.  I miss you terribly, but as I type this I’m listening to Bob Marley and in my mind I’m transferred back to our family basement dancing and playing a game of pool with you.  I would even goes as far as having a beer to celebrate your birthday, but you know I hate Miller, so if you don’t mind I will sip on Pinot Noir and we’ll call it ‘beer’.

I dream of you often and you are happy.  Things I miss:

  • your shrimp scampi
  • annoying you about my boy problems
  • grabbing you under your arms and dragging you around the house, while laughing my ass off
  • the smell of your after shave
  • you and mom cracking up
  • you asking me “who is that ugly boy outside my house”…everyone was ugly.

Like you said so many times before, I’m very blessed.  I’m so grateful for my circle of love. I want you to know that I’m happy, that mom is hanging in there, although I quiver  when I think of how this journey affects her, Tiant is the most loved person in Ohio and he tries his hardest everyday, but I know that he misses you so much, BUT he is the first person to talk me off of a ledge.

I cant wait to go to sleep and attend your party in heaven.  I LOVE YOU. MUAHHHHHHHHH

I imagine you dancing to this today:

Hey Mr. Music
Ya sure sound good to me
I can’t refuse it
What got to be, got to be

Feel like dancing
Dance cause we are free

I got my home
In the promise land
But I feel at home
Can you overstand

Said the road is rocky
sure feels good to me
and if your lucky
together we’d always be

Are you really rideing?
the sun is a risin’
the sign is a risin’
Moon is rising

PS- Damica is pregnant with your third great-grandchild…

I included some pictures from my trip to your homeland Jamaica with the man I love.  I’m so happy that I was able to spend time in a country that birth you.  I’ve never felt closer to you than my time there.  I felt you in the water, in the sunset, in the food, and in the music.

Comments
5 Responses to “Hey Mr. Music—Happy 70th Birthday Daddy”
  1. Gwen says:

    Got so happy reading this. I even laughed out Loud – this is such a wonderful day!!! These kodak memories are so clear and full of fun. Thanks for sharing!! Xoxo

  2. Melissa says:

    Happy Birthday to your daddy! What a wonderful post. I know he is so proud of you and watching over you! *hugs*

  3. Brooke says:

    Oh silly, what a Beautiful letter…this made me smile and cry. Now that I am a parent, I can totally imagine how proud he is of you…..I am sure you continue to amaze him daily with your thoughtfulness, your laugh that he passed on to you that is contagious, in your smile, your honesty, in everything you do. He is so lucky to have you as his daughter. I love you so much silly….thinking about you today, and your dad above….hope he is smoking a joint 😉

Leave a Reply

