Life As A House

“Sometimes in life something really bad has to happen, in order for something really great to happen.” Kevin Kline

I was extremely moved by this movie today for a hosts of reasons.  Specifically, the tone of accepting our mortality and doing what we can with the time that is left to build something great.  Something, that will remain long after we are gone in the flesh.

I can’t speak for anyone else but myself and for me, losing my father was something so bad, but when I step outside of my feelings, I see so many great things.  For a long time I was super hard on myself, held grudges, and even was careless with people’s feelings.  I’m not proud of it, but we all have stuff that make us wince with embarrassment.  It truly wasnt until my dad passed, that I even considered looking within and made a commitment to be a better version of myself.  I’m proud to say that I am so much better and I continue to grow more and more.

Everything happens for a reason, and I would trade anything in this world to have him back, but I know that’s not possible. As the great Maya Angelou says:

I would love to have you near, to hear your voice or to feel your touch again, but you’re gone and you loved me fiercely, so go, I set you free.”

If my life was a house it would be a fixer-uper, charming, warm and safe.  Filled with imperfections but the overall potential would be so much greater!  I continue to build day by day, one slab at a time.

What a wonderful movie and a tremendous performance by the group of actors.  I was truly touched, how magnificent is that?!?!

“Change can be so slow that you dont know if your life is better or wost, until it is.”—Kevin Kline

Comments
One Response to “Life As A House”
  1. Gwen says:

    You’re such an amazing woman and I feel truly inspired, lifted and blessed – thanks for always sharing!!!! Whew trying not to cry….Xoxo

Leave a Reply

